Great Books for Preschoolers

Here are some of our favorite books for preschoolers. When searching for books to share with preschool children keep an eye out for selections with limited text, stories that reflect young children’s life experiences, and illustrations that support little ones’ understanding of the story.
This post contains affiliate links. Blurbs are from amazon.com.

510NUZ35FKL._SY492_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Peep and Egg: I’m Not Hatching by Laura Gehl and Joyce Wan

Peep wants Egg to hatch so they can do fun things together, like watch the sunrise, splash in puddles, and play hide-and-seek.
But Egg is not cracking…


51vi0gAINlL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Mine! by Susie Lee Jin

Who does the carrot belong to? For a bunch of adorable bunnies, that question is up for an endless debate. Each bunny stakes a no nonsense claim on the juicy orange veggie with a resounding “Mine!” But as the chase heats up and a snowman gets in on the action, the battle for the carrot begins to get out of hand. Will the bunnies find a way to stop the madness…and share?


61QEr3CRG+L._SX401_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

You Must Be This Tall by Steven Weinberg

Can this energetic duo think outside the box and figure out a way to overcome the height restriction and ride the roller coaster? Find out in this adorable picture book that celebrates the value of friendship and encourages problem solving from Steven Weinberg.


51RN4VEs79L._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Bob and Flo Play Hide-and-Seek by Rebecca Ashdown

Penguins Bob and Flo love to play hide-and-seek with their new friend Sam at preschool. But Bob isn’t very good at hiding! Every time, Flo and Sam find him right away. After several funny failed attempts, Bob finally gets the hang of the game—and then enjoys the cake his friends baked in the preschool kitchen corner as his reward.


61btr9OLpzL._SX401_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Dig In by Cindy Jenson-Elliott and Mary Peterson

Explore all of the creepy, crawly, dirty, muddy, green, and growing things that can be found outside in the garden. From pill bugs to worms to leafy green sprouts, young readers will love discovering the muddy garden habitat within the pages of this book—and outside in their own backyards!


51ehgyBJdnL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Maggie and Wendel Imagine Everything by Cori Doerrfeld

When it comes to playtime, Maggie and Wendel’s imaginations are limitless. Whether the elephant siblings are pretending to rescue a pal from a burning building, buying a pet dragon at the pet store, or going on a wild jungle safari, no adventure is too far-fetched.


61jXJNyY8IL._SX470_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I Used to Be Afraid by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

There are a lot of things to be afraid of in this world: spiders, the dark, being alone. In this simple, beautifully-crafted picture book, acclaimed author/illustrator Laura Vaccaro Seeger shows that what seems scary at first, can become magical. It all depends on perspective. Using die-cuts, learn that a scary spider can actually produce an intricate and gorgeous web and that sometimes the dark can transform into a magical night sky. You’ll be surprised, awed, and inspired by this clever book.


51JduDZS7JL._SY497_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Henry Wants More! by Linda Ashman and Brooke Boynton Hughes

More games, more races, more tickles, more books—little Henry can’t get enough! When a toddler is armed with that useful word and the world is full of brand-new things, his family just doesn’t stand a chance. Follow Henry on his exhausting and all-too-familiar day filled with play . . . and a lot of love! Buoyant rhymes and charming illustrations strike a heartwarming note that will ring true with families of energetic little ones.


51HWsVWggnL._SX479_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Cat Nap by Toni Yuly

Cat loves to nap. If only he could find a good resting place to hide from playful (and wide awake) Kitten!

Opposites and hide-and-seek make this a fun story for nap time — or anytime.


61JQVRJbhGL._SX402_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

A Friend for Bo by Elisabeth Zuniga

Fans of Tad Hills’s Duck & Goose books will feel right at home with A Friend for Bo,the story of a little rabbit who makes a new friend named Rollie! The only problem is that Rollie doesn’t like doing much. Not reading, not boating, and not even playing! How can Bo get his new friend to have some fun? And also . . . just what is Bo’s new friend? Well, his new friend is an egg, a fact that has gone right over Bo’s ears. Full of heart and humor, this endearing story proves that a true friendship can “hatch” at any moment!

 

We received a review copies of these book from publishers.