Great Books for Preschoolers

Here are some of our favorite books for preschoolers. When searching for books to share with preschool children keep an eye out for selections with limited text, stories that reflect young children’s life experiences, and illustrations that support little ones’ understanding of the story.
This post contains affiliate links. Blurbs are from amazon.com.

510NUZ35FKL._SY492_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Peep and Egg: I’m Not Hatching by Laura Gehl and Joyce Wan

Peep wants Egg to hatch so they can do fun things together, like watch the sunrise, splash in puddles, and play hide-and-seek.
But Egg is not cracking…


51vi0gAINlL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Mine! by Susie Lee Jin

Who does the carrot belong to? For a bunch of adorable bunnies, that question is up for an endless debate. Each bunny stakes a no nonsense claim on the juicy orange veggie with a resounding “Mine!” But as the chase heats up and a snowman gets in on the action, the battle for the carrot begins to get out of hand. Will the bunnies find a way to stop the madness…and share?


61QEr3CRG+L._SX401_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

You Must Be This Tall by Steven Weinberg

Can this energetic duo think outside the box and figure out a way to overcome the height restriction and ride the roller coaster? Find out in this adorable picture book that celebrates the value of friendship and encourages problem solving from Steven Weinberg.


51RN4VEs79L._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Bob and Flo Play Hide-and-Seek by Rebecca Ashdown

Penguins Bob and Flo love to play hide-and-seek with their new friend Sam at preschool. But Bob isn’t very good at hiding! Every time, Flo and Sam find him right away. After several funny failed attempts, Bob finally gets the hang of the game—and then enjoys the cake his friends baked in the preschool kitchen corner as his reward.


61btr9OLpzL._SX401_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Dig In by Cindy Jenson-Elliott and Mary Peterson

Explore all of the creepy, crawly, dirty, muddy, green, and growing things that can be found outside in the garden. From pill bugs to worms to leafy green sprouts, young readers will love discovering the muddy garden habitat within the pages of this book—and outside in their own backyards!


51ehgyBJdnL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Maggie and Wendel Imagine Everything by Cori Doerrfeld

When it comes to playtime, Maggie and Wendel’s imaginations are limitless. Whether the elephant siblings are pretending to rescue a pal from a burning building, buying a pet dragon at the pet store, or going on a wild jungle safari, no adventure is too far-fetched.


61jXJNyY8IL._SX470_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I Used to Be Afraid by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

There are a lot of things to be afraid of in this world: spiders, the dark, being alone. In this simple, beautifully-crafted picture book, acclaimed author/illustrator Laura Vaccaro Seeger shows that what seems scary at first, can become magical. It all depends on perspective. Using die-cuts, learn that a scary spider can actually produce an intricate and gorgeous web and that sometimes the dark can transform into a magical night sky. You’ll be surprised, awed, and inspired by this clever book.


51JduDZS7JL._SY497_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Henry Wants More! by Linda Ashman and Brooke Boynton Hughes

More games, more races, more tickles, more books—little Henry can’t get enough! When a toddler is armed with that useful word and the world is full of brand-new things, his family just doesn’t stand a chance. Follow Henry on his exhausting and all-too-familiar day filled with play . . . and a lot of love! Buoyant rhymes and charming illustrations strike a heartwarming note that will ring true with families of energetic little ones.


51HWsVWggnL._SX479_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Cat Nap by Toni Yuly

Cat loves to nap. If only he could find a good resting place to hide from playful (and wide awake) Kitten!

Opposites and hide-and-seek make this a fun story for nap time — or anytime.


61JQVRJbhGL._SX402_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

A Friend for Bo by Elisabeth Zuniga

Fans of Tad Hills’s Duck & Goose books will feel right at home with A Friend for Bo,the story of a little rabbit who makes a new friend named Rollie! The only problem is that Rollie doesn’t like doing much. Not reading, not boating, and not even playing! How can Bo get his new friend to have some fun? And also . . . just what is Bo’s new friend? Well, his new friend is an egg, a fact that has gone right over Bo’s ears. Full of heart and humor, this endearing story proves that a true friendship can “hatch” at any moment!

 

We received a review copies of these book from publishers.

Anything But Ordinary Addie

Affiliate links

61k4SIDBThL._SX383_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Anything But Ordinary Addie: The True Story of Adelaide Herrmann, Queen of Magic by Mara Rockliff and Iacopo Bruno
Grades: 2-4
Rating: ♦♦♦♦
We enjoyed this interesting story of Addie, a woman who defied gender stereotypes and became a world famous magician. The illustrations are stunning.

We received a review copy of this book from the publisher.

The Kid from Diamond Street

Affiliate links
611TaKl6kIL._SX439_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
The Kid From Diamond Street: The Extraordinary Story of Baseball Legend Edith Houghton by Audrey Vernick and Steven Salerno
Grades: 2-4
Rating: ♦♦♦♦

We really enjoyed this book about a strong-willed and talented kid who not only got to play in a professional women’s team but also traveled to Japan to play in games throughout the country. We had some great conversations about gender roles throughout history and cultural differences between the US and Japan.
We received a review copy of this book from the publisher.

Wolf Hollow

Affiliate links
61SMuQYjM1L._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk
Grades: 5+
Rating: ♦♦♦♦♦
One of the best books I have read in quite some time, Wolf Hollow is a beautifully written and gripping story set in the shadow of WWII. When a bully moves to town events are set in motion that put Annabelle’s loyalty and sense of what is right to the test. Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird, this suspenseful tale is a must read.

The Enemy Above

Affiliate links
51GF9fWlPML._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
The Enemy Above by Michael P. Spradlin
Grades: 5-7
Rating: ♦♦♦♦
Quite a few excellent middle-grade books have been written about WWII recently and this one did not disappoint. When Anton’s family is forced to flee their Ukrainian hometown, they hide in a network of underground caves. The fast-paced story unfolds through the narration of Anton and the German officer determined to make the country Judenfrei.
We received a review copy of this book from the publisher.

No, No, Gnome!

Affiliate links
61Rj8UbOWUL._SX401_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
No, No, Gnome! by Ashlyn Anstee
Grades: PreK-2
Rating: ♦♦♦♦
Gnome can’t contain his enthusiasm which gets him into some tricky situations. His big heart helps him make it up to his friends in the end. We really enjoyed this funny and endearing tale.
We received a review copy of this book from the publisher.

A Big Surprise for Little Card

Affiliate links
51cO2NL+e2L._SX466_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
A Big Surprise for Little Card by Charise Mericle Harper and Anna Raff
Grades: PreK-2
Rating: ♦♦♦♦
We loved this delightful little book full of twists, turns, and an adorable little card who doesn’t let disappointments get him down.
We received a review copy of this book from the publisher.

Our Favorites for Map Lovers

Our boys are obsessed with maps. Every night during story time, they find some reason to consult their globe, wall-decal maps, or one of their many atlases. They love to track down where authors and illustrators live, find countries or cities referenced in whatever we read, and remind us of all of the trips they have planned. Here are some of our favorite resources.
Affiliate links
Wall Pops makes this dry-erase world map. They also have U.S. and Canadian versions. They really brightened up the boys’ room and since we hung them at their eye level, the maps are consulted constantly.

81Y3RO3rPML._SL1500_.jpg


GeoPuzzles are a hit with our puzzle and geography loving kids. These are some of the few geography puzzles I have seen where the pieces are shaped like countries/states/provinces.

61x30F1ccxL.jpg


 

The 50 States is our favorite U.S. atlas. It contains tons of information, contemporary references, and fun facts (who knew there was a sculpture of a spoon with a cherry on it in Minneapolis, MN?)

51i6cYuVqRL._SX412_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg


 

Our favorite world atlas has beautiful illustrations and is full of interesting information and details. Candlewick recently released a Maps Poster Book which we wrote about here.

617PGb7J6aL._SX361_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg


 

I’m shocked this interactive globe didn’t get better reviews on Amazon. We’ve had ours for two years and it is still going strong despite almost daily use. It provides information about continents, countries, capitals, currency, and fun facts. It also has engaging  games that our boys love.

61jcYqTJIaL._SL1000_.jpg